Have Any Questions? support@hezekiaholuwasanmifarms.com

National Directorate of Employment Commence Training for Agricultural Extension Personnel

The National Directorate of Employment (NDE) has recruited and deployed 1,250 persons for training in 24 States and the Federal Capital Territory.

  Deputy Director, Information and Public Relations, Edmund Onwuliri said the latest recruitment and deployment exercise is under the second phase of the training of agricultural extension personnel.

    He explained that previously, 12 States had benefitted from a similar training exercise under the pilot phase of the programme.

    The training of 50 persons per state will involve the use of chemical sprayers, herbicides and preservatives in agricultural production.

    Trainees will equally be exposed to new knowledge in the deployment and use of improved varieties of seeds and seedlings as well as the knowledge of current government policies and initiatives aimed at incentivizing agricultural production.

     Other objectives of the training programme include generating employment for the extension workers, increasing food production, stimulating the rural economy, removing drudgery associated with traditional agricultural practices, encouraging food security as well as addressing the challenge of rural to urban migration among others.

The programme is expected to produce 1,250 qualified agricultural extension staff that will immediately impact the agricultural value chain in the benefitting states thereby supporting the policy thrust of the Federal Government, which seeks to diversify the economy leveraging agriculture.

  Furthermore, the newly trained agricultural extension personnel will deepen the use of scientific and technology-driven services to farmers which will guarantee disease-free production, high-quality yields and stress-free farm production processes.

   The beneficiary states under the current phase of the training initiative are Abia, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Borno, Bayelsa, Benue and Bauchi. Others are Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Ondo, Osun, Gombe Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano and Kebbi states. Also benefiting are Kogi, Lagos, Nasarawa, Plateau, Rivers, Yobe, Zamfara and the FCT.

Source: https://guardian.ng/appointments/nde-trains-1250-agricultural-extension-personnel/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *